PDA

View Full Version : Trail food question

nicksmith75
07-09-2012, 22:25
Last year I did a section hike from Springer to Neel's Gap. For food I went to an Army Surplus store and purchased MRE's. I am a veteran, but somehow forgot how much I hated those things...

At any rate, I fell in love with the trail, and am heading back in a couple of months. Certainly have planned to make some adjustments from the things I learned last year. First, I have bought a stove so that I could have some hot meals. I have tried Mountain House...and they seem to have a pretty good offering. I have read about Wise but haven't tried any of those. Does anyone have any suggestions? My itinerary is for 6 days or so.

I have read some conflicting reports about the "proper" cleaning of cookware on the trail...What is your experience? I guess, I don't want to upset anyone, so can it/should it be done at shelter sites (responsibly) or is it better to do at a water source down trail away from shelter sites?

Thanks in advance.

-Nick

Spokes
07-09-2012, 22:50
Check out the "Cooking and Food" section. Lots of ideas you can sift through.

http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?32-Cooking-and-Food

jakedatc
07-09-2012, 22:54
As for cleaning at most shelter sites there is a wash area, there is usually a screen to catch any extra food. wash your stuff there and screen the water so you can put any food in your trash.

nicksmith75
07-09-2012, 22:55
perfect...thanks ;)

FarmerChef
07-10-2012, 16:11
Spokes is pot on about the Cooking and Food section - you should definitely search that a bit for some tips and ideas. Lots of threads about good trail eats there. You can buy premade meals, go the Lipton sides and similar route, dehydrate your own food or buy dehydrated ingredients to make your own meals on the trail.