PDA

View Full Version : In search of the Perfect tent for 2

Not Sunshine
07-12-2012, 11:17
I've been backpacking along the AT (section hiker) for a few years with my heavy Kelty (I have a 1-man and 2-man tent). As of current, it's been good, but I know there's better out there!

I do most of my hiking along the AT because I live in the east, but next summer (2013) I am planning to hike the JMT with a friend.

I'd like to upgrade my tent for the occasion.

Here is my wish list:
- roomy, 2 person
- good ventilation
- bathtub floor
- fully netted/insect proof
- uses trekking poles to decrease weight
- weight < or = 2 lbs
- if at all possible: MADE in the USA

Price is really not a concern; I've bought cheap tents in the past, and because I have plenty of other gear, I'd like to get a NICE lightweight tent...I won't pay more than $500, but who would?

I've found the LightHeart Duo...http://www.lightheartgear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=12

and the Tarptent Squall2...http://www.tarptent.com/squall2.html

I know there are other options out there.

I'm looking for recommendations, preferences, personal experiences, other companies to look into, etc. If anyone has anything to share, your experience would be GREATLY appreciated!!! I'm looking to purchase in the next 6-9 months (as we're planning JMT for July/August 2013).

THANK YOU!
Not Sunshine:o

Hiking Man
07-12-2012, 11:56
Lightheart gear duo +1

I have the duo and it's a great tent. Go for the wedge well worth the extra 1 oz plus 1oz pole, so 2oz total.

T.S.Kobzol
07-12-2012, 12:21
Yeah. The Lightheart Duo looks really nice on paper, especially the wedge version. I would love to hear more real 'from the field' reports and photos about this configuration.

Lightheart gear duo +1

I have the duo and it's a great tent. Go for the wedge well worth the extra 1 oz plus 1oz pole, so 2oz total.

Zippy Morocco
07-12-2012, 14:53
I really like the squall 2. I gave up a SMD lunar duo for it.