PDA

View Full Version : Your Story: When and where you became interested in backpacking?

SunnyWalker
07-15-2012, 22:39
Please tell us your story. What was the time (and when) you fell in love and became interested in backpacking? Who was with you? Family, friends, were you alone? :-? :D

rocketsocks
07-16-2012, 01:17
I had read a book by Peter Jenkins "A Walk Across America" in HS, it was given to me by my father. It looked like something I thought I'd be good at, always looking for things to do that I'd be good at, even still. While I'm not that good at it, it is only walking....I'm also stuborn. I'm good at that.:D

Different Socks
07-16-2012, 01:27
Fell in love with backpacking during a 60 mile, 2 day hike in Sequoia National park back in the summer of 1987. Got heavily interested in hiking when I was about 10 years old and would disappear into the woods every summer when my dad would take the family on vacation. Drove my parents crazy that they didn't know my whereabouts for hours.

Feral Bill
07-16-2012, 01:28
I'm wracking my brain and just can't remember. It was a very long time ago. Reading My Side of the Mountain probably had someting to do with it.

rocketsocks
07-16-2012, 01:34
I'm wracking my brain and just can't remember. It was a very long time ago. Reading My Side of the Mountain probably had someting to do with it.That was a goog movie, also the wilderness family. Little cheesy maybe, but it does bring me back. Also watching Marty Stouffers wild America,and Marlin Perkins wild kindom, all these inspired a love for the out doors.

Hairbear
07-16-2012, 06:37