PDA

View Full Version : What was so great about the "old days"?

Violent Green
07-18-2012, 08:51
Hi everyone,

I lurk here quite a bit and pretty often I see someone mention how they miss the AT "back in the old days". Usually referring to the 80's up through the late 90's. Unfortunately, I graduated high school in '99 so I didn't have much of a chance to hike the AT during that time. What was so different back then? Was it because there were no cell phones, Kindles, trail maintenance/angels? Less yuppies? Or was it better just because it was the "old days" by reason of nostalgia??

Ryan

hikerboy57
07-18-2012, 08:54
Nothing we were younger.

hikerboy57
07-18-2012, 08:55
You did miss the crack epidemic and aids though.

Violent Green
07-18-2012, 09:02
You did miss the crack epidemic and aids though.

But, I didn't miss out on MC Hammer and Milli Vanilli. Eeeek.

Ryan

Tuckahoe
07-18-2012, 09:02
Nothing we were younger.

Thats it right there. We were kids then. Hiking the AT for the first time as a kid in the 80s was a wonderful experience. I'll admit that part of the reason for my hiking today is to reconnect with that time in my life.

hikerboy57
07-18-2012, 09:06
the good old days: wwii, then korea, cuban missile crisis, vietnam, civil rights protests , riots, tear gas, gas lines, wage and price freeze, massive inflation, high interest rates---it was great!!!

we were younger.

Deadeye
07-18-2012, 09:17
We did stuff, rather than type about doing stuff.

Lone Wolf
07-18-2012, 09:22
a lot less people. no information overload (internet, books, videos) no hiker feeds every road crossing. just a simpler time

Violent Green
07-18-2012, 09:22

Ha...that's probably a good way to put it. Although I'm sure there were some slackers and people who were all mouth back then too. Did you hike the AT back then? How is it different today?

Ryan

Cookerhiker
07-18-2012, 09:27