PDA

View Full Version : Advice on an Appalachian 10-14 day in October

LeeAnne Templeman
07-25-2012, 01:30
I am looking at spending 10-14 days on the AT this fall, in mid-October. I am new to the east coast so I don't have much tribal knowledge around what leg I should select.

I am 28yo Female traveling solo. I have completed multiple 30+ day NOLS courses including WFR and have done solo off-trail trips prior so I feel adequately prepared technically to handle any leg of the trip as far as I can tell. Mostly I am looking for tips or advice on which segment offers the most in a shortened period of time and would be accessible in Mid October. So far I am eyeing the northernmost leg, the 100mile Wilderness, but given the fall climate that far north I am not sure I want to carry the supplies needed for the entire trip as there are no towns.

Any favorite 80-130mile legs of the trip that offer the most in terms of nature, scenery, wildlife? I would like to go lite, so if there is 1 or 2 reration locations that would be the best fit. I will be bringing my own tarp, so I am not too concerned with the shelters.

Thank you very much for any feedback here!

LT

chiefduffy
07-25-2012, 04:24
I recommend the Roan Highlands area. Logistics are easy, the hiking is moderately challenging, the scenery is amazing, especially in the autumn. Maybe Erwin to Damascus...

fiddlehead
07-25-2012, 05:13
Maine is the best!
That's what I would do.

It does get dark quicker up there however.
Take a headlamp.
And maybe a book.

Have fun.

10-K
07-25-2012, 05:35
What kind of experience do you want - do you want to feel like you're in the wilderness (which you can sorta do but not really) or do you want to see a town or 2, eat real food, and sleep in a real bed a few times?

Nevermind.. I missed your last paragraph.

Maine or the Roan area as mentioned would be nice.

Drybones
07-25-2012, 17:00