PDA

View Full Version : 3 pieces of gear for $400 or less....

Sampson
07-25-2012, 06:42
Heading over to REI or perhaps EMS to purchase three pieces of gear. I need to buy a 3 season sleeping bag (mostly summer), a sleeping pad and a set of hiking poles...all for $400 or less. I'm willing to exceed that if I need to, but I think its a decent baseline. Heading up to Franconia's notch to do a section hike on Sunday and I'll need to do this asap so any advice would be greatly appreciated. I am relatively new to hiking, but after doing 3 sections with borrowed gear it's time I start my own collection. I'll just put it next to the mountains of ski stuff I have :). And no, I am not taking a set of ski poles in lieu of hiking poles. I'd like to be able to put my poles in my pack if choose. Thanks!

Buffalo Skipper
07-25-2012, 08:41
I can offer some ideas (see disclaimer at the bottom).

Look at the Black Diamond poles. I have the aluminum flip lock ergo corks, while my son bought the carbon flip lock straight corks. Both are lightweight, and we each love ours. We paid right at $100 each at REI.

EMS has a 20° Solace sleeping bag on sale for $99. Can't see the weight (something wrong with the EMS website?), but reviews claim it is "light." I started with a Kelty Light Year 25° bag that I got on sale for $75. Though I have replaced it with summer and winter down quilts, I still regularly loan this one out to my son or friends. The Solace will be a good 3-4 season bag for you, and appears to be a good bag.