PDA

View Full Version : UL 10 Commandments

Stoker53
04-26-2005, 10:41
As a recent convert from Heavy Pack / Presbyterian I'm just beginning to walk the path of enLIGHTENMENT. I need spiritual direction, a road map if you will. I'm looking to those among you who have been the mountain top and seen the promised land to share the 10 commandments you brought back.

Moses had tablets of stone but I suspect that most of you have tablets of plastic ( CD rom ) or titanium, aluminum, mylar film, etc.

Like most religious converts I'll take all the info you ( prophets of the religion ) provide and simply use what I like and ignore the rest. Tactic served me well with Southern Baptists and most recently Presbyterians.

So what are your 10 commandments for UL hiking? Serious and humorous posts will be equally evaluated then I'll publish my personal top 10.

TDale
04-26-2005, 10:51
Every item shall have multiple uses or it shall be left behind.

Doctari
04-26-2005, 11:06
Every item shall be used daily or it shall be left behind.

The Hog
04-26-2005, 11:18
Thou shalt not wear heavy boots, nor shall thee carry a heavy backpack, tent, or sleeping bag. Prithee, leave thy mega flashlite in yonder dumpster, along with thy stonelike hiking staff.

Tha Wookie
04-26-2005, 11:54
Thall shalt not covet thy neighbors beef stroganoff.

Tha Wookie
04-26-2005, 11:55
Smite down thy toothbrush as Moses hath hewn the sea.

Blue Jay
04-26-2005, 12:19
Thou shalt flirt with the Goddess Hypothermia at all times, due to lack of food, clothing AND shelter. Note, this is not a shot, I like flirting with her also.

"ME & U"
04-26-2005, 12:49
Every thing is Zen...

Move in and through in as much as beyond weightlessness...
Let your every thought center itself on the weight of each object you possess and in this way... you will have thought about it.

getting rid of it is your problem:D

Pencil Pusher
04-26-2005, 16:38
Zen and the art of mooching.

TDale
04-26-2005, 16:48
Zen and Yogi(ing)?

Lilred