PDA

View Full Version : Trekking poles on C&O Canal Trail (?)

Cozy
07-30-2012, 15:27
I'm new to using trekking poles. They were invaluable to my section hike in VA a couple of months ago with the uphills and downhills. I will be backpacking the C&O Canal trail from Cumberland, MD to Washington, DC. Apparently it's pretty much flat (no mountain climbs/descents). Is there any good reason to use trekking poles on a long distance flat terrain hike?

Thanks!

Mrs Baggins
07-30-2012, 16:07
Well, poles would keep your hands from swelling the way they would if left to hang down at your sides. When you get tired they're something to lean on for a few minutes. I've seen people using them on the path. I guess it's whether or not you want to carry them.

Ender
07-30-2012, 16:16
On flat trail I find poles to be more trouble than they're worth. I go faster, with less energy spent not using them on flat trail. If the trail turns flat, I collapse my poles and just hold them until it gets steep again. On ups, and steep downs though, I always use my poles.

Malto
07-30-2012, 20:38
No no no no (it had to be ten characters)

Don H
07-30-2012, 22:18
Cozy, the C&O Canal is flat, it's a canal, it holds water, it's level:)
I've done the whole canal twice, except for an 8 foot drop at each lock it is flat. It's a very nice gravel road the entire way.
If you want you can use poles. They save your knees, even of level ground. Plus I need one to hold my tent up.

Cookerhiker
07-31-2012, 09:38
I don't see any benefit to using poles on the C&O at all unless you have some specific medical condition.

You may want to ask for advice regarding the impact on your feet from 184 miles of backpacking on a hard flat surface, e.g. what kind of shoes work best.

Don H
07-31-2012, 10:41
I've biked the C&O. Don't need poles for that and it's easier on the knees. Faster too.

Bike Cumberland to Harper's Ferry. Take a day off to do some whitewater rafting, then continue to DC. Great one week trip.