PDA

View Full Version : Hwy 311 Catawba VA to Daleville VA : Gear check, random thoughts

SCGamecock
08-01-2012, 14:43
7 1/2 months until my 2013 AT thru

Last week I hiked from Hwy 311 Catawba VA to Daleville VA
- I hope this parking lot is safe for my car (Hwy 311 near Catawba, VA), well, not my car, it’s a rental
- I’m 42 years old, this is my first time hiking alone, no big deal right?
- Do I have enough water? 2L should be enough, I’m only going to Campbell Shelter, 4.7 miles
- I haven’t hiked up and down mountains in a long, long time
- Johns Springs shelter, haven’t seen an AT shelter since I was around ten years old, log mentions a bear
- What was that noise? Stop looking over your shoulder
- I think I’m being stalked by the Last Mohican
- Was that a bear? Nope, a bird
- Haven’t seen a bear since I was around ten years old when one big ‘ol Mama bear walked up to my Dad, said ‘Hello’, and took his backpack, ripped it
open, and ate most of our food (somewhere near Clingmans Dome, she liked the spaghetti sauce, I think she was showing off for her two cubs)
- Just make a lot of noise, that’ll scare the bear away (I remember the Rangers saying), yeah, ok, right
- No views so far, I guess that’s why they call the AT the Green Tunnel
- A young couple tells me the spring at Campbell Shelter is dry
- Great, I’m trying to get a taste of the AT and checkout my gear and my first stop doesn’t have any water
- I drove 3 ½ hours to see McAfee Knob and my first stop doesn’t have any water? Really?
- Why doesn’t my first stop have any water?
- Stop freakin’ out, deal with it. That couple gave you most of their water, you have 2L, deal with it
- Will 2L of water last until Lambert’s Meadow shelter tomorrow? It’ll have to. If I have to, I won’t cook tonight or in the morning.
- Was that a bear? Nope, a squirrel
- Sure is hard to reach the side pockets on my ULA Circuit backpack