PDA

View Full Version : Trying to choose a pack

BDF92
08-02-2012, 12:12
Hey guys, I am just getting into backpacking, having gone on a three day trip in NH earlier this year (and a handful of others last year). I finally have a car and the money to invest in some gear, and am stuck trying to choose a pack. What I want from my pack is to be able to have enough room for virtually all types of trips, from 3 day to 10 day. I am also looking to hike the AT after college, so hopefully this pack would be suited for that.

I have heard very good things about the Osprey Exos 58, and am considering it along with the Kestrel 68. I was at EMS yesterday, and the man there told me that 68 is way too much for any type of hike, and the only time he saw someone use something of that size was when he was carrying hiking, and climbing gear for himself and other people. I really like the idea of having a lot of room so that I will never be limited by my bag, though if I can save space I would like to (I don't want to go 70+).

I am obviously very new so if anyone has any input it would be much appreciated.

RED-DOG
08-02-2012, 12:18
On my Thru this year i used a Mountain Hardwear Dissimer 46 it was plenty of room and very comfortable, but i never carry more than 30 lbs either. RED-DOG

Rocket Jones
08-02-2012, 12:22
Get your sleeping bag/quilt, sleeping pad and tent/tarp/hammock first. Once you get those, then you can get a pack to fit your gear. If your pack is too big, you'll be tempted to fill it "since I have the room", and if too small you'll wind up strapping crap all over the outside where it can get lost without you noticing.

It's a good idea to get fitted for a pack at EMS, and then try on the ones you're interested in. Put weight in them (the store should have sandbags) and walk around wearing it for a while.