PDA

View Full Version : Black Blear Bluff Charge (Great video on these animals)

Suckerfish
08-06-2012, 15:00
First off I want to say I am new to the AT community, I have hiked and camp all over the southeast most of my life and I only have logged in about 100 total miles of hiking on the AT, the longest being 37 miles from springer mtn up to levelland mtn this past july. The last month I saw 5 bears and a cub along the AT in Georgia and I have to say, I was pretty spooked, especially seeing the cub and adult together crossing over the trail as I was only 20 or 30 feet down from them taking a break.

I thought this video would be great to ease any fear some others might have of bears along the AT, this was filmed in New Jersey...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bkwy0scRXBU

sbhikes
08-06-2012, 15:44
Poor bear. They should leave the poor thing alone. Stop pestering it. People are idiots.

mgeiger
08-06-2012, 16:50
I kinda wanted the bear to attack her because she sounds like my ex mother in law.

1azarus
08-06-2012, 16:50
i think i've finally found my ideal hiking partner. (the bear, not the lady.)

atmilkman
08-06-2012, 16:58
She better be glad that wasn't mama with her cubs.

MkBibble
08-06-2012, 18:07
I kinda wanted the bear to attack her because she sounds like my ex mother in law.

Made me smile!

HikerMom58
08-06-2012, 18:54
I really see what you were trying to do with this post and the video. I also have a fear of bears when I'm out hiking. I'm getting over my fear just by getting out there. The thing that is worrysome to me is when bears lose their fear of people when they want to get something they think you have. Mainly food. I appriecate what your post means to you and your desire to help others. The lady in the video is prob. not making good choices while she's trying to prove a point. Don't get your feelings hurt by comments made on this site. Just read my post from a few days ago.... Thanks for sharing & your intentions are good, I'm sure. :welcome