PDA

View Full Version : Electronic Devices on the Trail

LostinAK
08-07-2012, 16:45
I'm planning a through hike for next summer. I'm wondering what do hikers do with charging electronic gear. For instance iPod's, Cell Phones, and Digital Cameras come with batteries that need plug-in charging. Obviously head lamps and such things like that you can carry extra triple AAA's, or maybe put them in your resupply drop box.

I'm an avid photographer and videographer on the trail, so this is a conundrum for me. Do you just carry extra batteries and memory cards? I plan to attempt the trail in under three months, so I probably won't be spending much time in town where recharging is possible. Though I imagine myself sitting down for a burger or beer passing through nearby towns, so maybe I can plug-in and charge up then? I probably won't be carrying an iPod.

bigcranky
08-07-2012, 16:55
Yeah, you pretty much have it. Carry a spare battery or two, and enough memory cards for the trip (or arrange to send them home and swap, though this is less useful for a fast hike.) You'll just need to spend enough time in town to recharge your camera and phone batteries. It's polite to ask first before plugging in at a restaurant or convenience store.

SCRUB HIKER
08-07-2012, 16:59
This has been covered before (http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?80631-quot-Just-charge-in-town-quot). Consensus is: outlets aren't hard to find in town, but always ask the proprietors first if you can use their outlets for charging. My own rule is that if it's a chain (i.e. McDonald's or Dunkins) or a motel, I don't bother to ask, but if it's a hiker hostel or a mom-and-pop place I do.