PDA

View Full Version : New Backpacker Long Lasting Gear

jj442434
08-13-2012, 16:30
I'm a college student in Southern California, and I'm looking to get into backpacking, with the end goal being a thru-hike of both the AT and the PCT at some point. I figured I'd start off with some smaller trips, like Yosemite or Joshua Tree (near my school) and Superior Hiking Trail or the Ice Age Trail (near my home)

I want to buy gear that I can use not only on these "training" hikes, but also when I eventually do the AT and PCT, so I figure I should get quality stuff from the start. But since I'm new, I don't know exactly what I should be getting. Any comments, or cheaper or lighter alternatives to the following big ticket items woud be very much appreciated.

Shelter:

http://www.sixmoondesigns.com/tarps/WildOasis.html

What's the difference between this tarp, and a homemade tarp made from Home Depot tarp, and separate bug netting? Is this worth the huge increase in price?

Also a random question about trekking poles: Can ski poles be used instead? What's the difference?

Many thanks in advance!

Also I'm pretty sure I'll be fine with a tarp instead of a tent. The psychological aspect of an open shelter doesn't really bother me as long as its functional.

Pack:

http://www.golite.com/Ms-Quest-65L-Pack-P46804.aspx

Too big? Too small? Cheaper alternative?

Sleeping Bag:

(I'm thinking either a Hummingbird or a Swallow)
http://www.featheredfriends.com/Picasso/Bags/Product/20Degree.html

The price is pretty steep for these, but I've read if you're going to splurge on one thing. you should make it a sleeping bag. I want this to last for many trips. That being said, is there a cheaper alternative, possibly without the markup that comes with a well know brand?

Razor
08-13-2012, 18:07