PDA

View Full Version : New Hiker needs advice

rka001
08-14-2012, 22:25
Ok I've got the bug. The AT bug, I hear it won't go away until I start hiking. I am completely new to this and just starting to get my equipment. I would like to start doing 4-6 day hike and start in GA. Any suggestions?

attroll
08-15-2012, 00:07
Moved this thread to the "General" forum.

leaftye
08-15-2012, 00:10
Share your budget when asking for gear recommendations.

Other than that, just get out there and build your experience and hopefully have a good time doing it.

glaux
08-15-2012, 08:17
Have you done a lot of day hikes? It requires less gear, but gives you an idea how well you like stomping up and down mountains. I ask because you say you are completely new, so if you haven't set foot on the trail, day hikes are a good start.

You can start at Amicalola, hit the approach trail, to Springer, to Neels Gap. If totally new, you can walk slow and stretch it to 4 or 5 days. Park at Neels and get a shuttle to Amicalola.

Kryptonite
08-15-2012, 09:18
Have you watched Loner2012AT videos on YouTube? There are now about 96 of them in order. Also Fatherman has a daily AT video.

Deer Hunter
08-15-2012, 09:27
"I hear it won't go away until I start hiking"

It never goes away.

Water Rat
08-15-2012, 10:35
Have you watched Loner2012AT videos on YouTube? There are now about 96 of them in order. Also Fatherman has a daily AT video.

DO NOT get her hooked on the Loner videos!! They are visual crack for those inflicted with the AT bug!! Watching them is like throwing gas on a fire - It will make the AT bug get worse! :)

Rita - :welcome! Don't listen to Kryptonite! Your desire to hike the AT will only get worse! I listened...and am now addicted to the videos. Unfortunately, Loner's hike will end. Then, what will I do??? :)