PDA

View Full Version : ???Big Agnes REM Air Core vs. Exped air mat???

V8
04-30-2005, 14:26
:confused: Anyone have comparative info on these two air mats?

Also, any experience with down or fiber filled air mats? Just hype (weight) or a good thing?

Already fully experienced with old thermarest, new thermarest and Z-rest.

V8

verber
04-30-2005, 20:16
In the field I have used a warmlite DAM and the Pacific Outdoors Insult max-thermo, and tried the exped DAM and the BA insulated air core in a store. I have been using my max-thermo for around two years now. I can't image going back to a therm-a-rest or a close foam pad. I actually sleep through the night and wake up refreshed which hasn't been the case for year with my therm-a-rest.

You will find the exped DAM warmer than the BA insuated air core, and I think that exped is more comfortable (though comfort is a personal judgement, your milage might vary.

One concern with the BA insulated air core. There have been a number of reports on backpacker.com forums of: (1) leaks (2) the primaloft detaching from the top of the BA and settling resulting in cold spots. BA reportedly replaced the problem mats.. and hopefully these were issolated incidents. I haven't heard anyone reporting problems with the max-therma from PO.

--mark

ellsfamily
04-30-2005, 20:55
I have a BA mica 20 degree bag and decided to go with the insulated air core even though it weighs 21 ounces. I sleep like a baby, well, better than at home. I think it is a great mattress and have had no difficulties with leaks or separation of insulation, yet.

hiknthru
05-01-2005, 10:47
down vs. fiber filled air mats...

While not tried the Exped down air mat I used the Stephenson's down mat for a couple of years and found the comfort and warmth excellent... I have also used the Big Agnes and Insul Mat synthetic insulated air mats which are also very comfortable, but not as warm.