PDA

View Full Version : I scored, I think . . .

SCLocke
08-17-2012, 20:02
Our scout troop decided they wanted to start backpacking. I'm new to backpacking and trying to gear up my son and myself as cheep as possible. The information I learned here has been GREAT, THANK YOU!

Stopped by my local Goodwill store this morning looking for light weight clothing. Needed a light jacket, shorts, shirts, really just looking.

Found a few items I liked;
a Charles River polyester pull over wind shirt
a Easter Mountain Sports down vest
a Old College Inn Nylon wind breaker
a long sleeve Starter compression shirt

All very light and compressible.

On my last lap around the store, I spotted a few sleeping bags. In and amongst the Dora the Explorer and the My Little Princess bags was a down bag. Pulled it out and found a Mountain Hardware Cloud Rest 5*-15* bag. No price. Asked, and was told $6.99.

Grabbed the bag and the other items, checked out. Grand total $22.95

I may have to go back. Biggest reason I went in the first place was on the advice from those of you here. . . .

Thanks again :)

Dash
08-17-2012, 20:23
After spending over $900 this week alone on gear at BASS PRO I might have to go to Goodwill also I have one about a mile from my house.
Thanks for the tip, now i might be able to return some stuff.

Old Hiker
08-17-2012, 20:28
Nice score, SCLocke !! Goodwill is hit or miss, but when you find the right items (or close to what you REALLY want), the price is usually great! Never thought to look for a down bag - I need to start poking through them.

Sailing_Faith
08-17-2012, 20:33
Congrats! Sounds like a great score!

johnnybgood
08-17-2012, 20:37
Goodwill has always been a favorite of mine. I too have scored on wicking polyester shirts and even a down jacket. Here in Virginia however sleeping bags cannot be resold once used.

Wise Old Owl
08-17-2012, 20:44