PDA

View Full Version : Crampons or snowshoes or both?

Timinator
08-28-2012, 01:34
As I said in one of my other posts I'm probably going to do part of the CDT in winter and I'm currently mulling over what to bring for snow crossing (it should be noted I have zero experience winter hiking, I'm going to start training this year). Right now I'm looking at http://cascadedesigns.com/msr/snowshoes/ascent/evo-ascent/product and http://hillsound.com/2products/trail_crampon_pro.php because they seem to be the lightest and most reliable I can find. Is there a reason I should carry both or can the snow shoe crampons handle what I need.

Mags
08-28-2012, 10:31
Which part? Besides snow conditions, you have to watch out for avalanche conditions, too esp in Colorado.

Timinator
08-28-2012, 10:31
Wyoming and montana.

Snowleopard
08-28-2012, 11:35
As I said in one of my other posts I'm probably going to do part of the CDT in winter and I'm currently mulling over what to bring for snow crossing (it should be noted I have zero experience winter hiking, I'm going to start training this year). Right now I'm looking at http://cascadedesigns.com/msr/snowshoes/ascent/evo-ascent/product and http://hillsound.com/2products/trail_crampon_pro.php because they seem to be the lightest and most reliable I can find. Is there a reason I should carry both or can the snow shoe crampons handle what I need.
You really need to get winter hiking/backpacking/mountaineering experience before you try this.
One way to start on this is the ADK Winter Mountaineering School http://www.winterschool.org/ or the equivalent courses at the AMC. Also, some AMC chapters teach winter courses. The AMC and ADK.org chapters have many trips in the winter and you should go on as many as you can; the leaders and participants are often very experienced. An avalanche awareness course is probably necessary also, but probably best done out west.

I have little experience out west in winter, so perhaps Mags can correct me here: