PDA

View Full Version : TOO Much Alone Time Going SOBO?

ParkRat09
08-30-2012, 17:53
Thru-hiking next year and leaning heavily toward a SOBO trip. Mostly because I have been hiking the Smokies for 7+ years and I think it would be awesome to make that one of the very last legs of my trip. I also live about 2.5 hours from Springer so logistically it makes sense. I like the idea of more alone time on the trail, a smaller group of ppl going south and gettin ME and DE done first. My only concern is TOO much alone time on the trail. What's everyone's take on that?

yellowsirocco
08-30-2012, 18:04
Everybody is different and that is really something that only you can answer. Personally SOBO is too lonely for me.

scree
08-30-2012, 18:09
For the social types, it's not uncommon to hike alone all day and then meet up with a group at night. I don't see too many people hiking in packs since its really hard to sync one other person's pace, let alone the paces of several people over distance. You're likely to be most alone or most crowded at night. That said, you definitely will see a lot fewer people in general headed south, which to me is perhaps the greatest benefit. Have you ever spent an entire week without uttering a word to another person? If so, were you cool with it? If not, how do you think you would feel in that situation? Whjat if it extended out to a month? That would work fine for me, but there are lots of people who need constant interaction and would consider a day without seeing other people very depressing. If you're one of those, even NOBO might be tough in certain parts.

Lone Wolf
08-30-2012, 18:09
i went SOBO 14 years ago starting the end of june. was never alone at shelter areas. but there weren't the hordes like NOBOs. go south, you'll love it

Durtydan
08-30-2012, 18:11