PDA

View Full Version : What should be packed?

Virginia Archer
08-31-2012, 22:36
I'm just a beginner and still Gathering gear now. But not preparing for a thru-hike. Just a Weekend Warrior hiker, up to maybe a week at a time! I know the necessities, but is there a Link to what to pack for a weekend/ week hike?

Gear so far:
Osprey ather 70 with Hydration bladder
Pack Rain Cover
Sleeping bag
Sleeping pad
Jet boil with fuel
water bottle
MSR water treatment (Pump)
bug spray

Weight without water or food so far is 12.24 pounds

I know water/food will up that a few pounds since I like to eat and I can drink more water than a Camel. Also a Few pounds for a Second set of Sleeping clothes/warmer/rain gear.

Is there anything ya'll would recommend that may have slipped under the radar?

Archer:confused:

jakedatc
08-31-2012, 22:43
http://www.geargrams.com/list?id=9466

Here is my list of things PACKED minus a tent (in between tents at the moment)

not listed - food, fuel, clothes worn, hiking poles

Virginia Archer
08-31-2012, 23:05
http://www.geargrams.com/list?id=9466

Here is my list of things PACKED minus a tent (in between tents at the moment)

not listed - food, fuel, clothes worn, hiking poles

Thanks Speedy. But it says summer pack.....why the down Jacket? Looks like a Few small objects that I have overlooked that are on your list. Few other things I do need to pick-up to. I'm the same way about the tent. I have a decent 2 man eureka dome tent slightly heavier than the kelty's, MSR's out there but thinking of getting another lighter 1 or 2 man dome for when the wifey and daughter go out with me I can have my own man shack!

jakedatc
08-31-2012, 23:31
Good catch, that should be on my fall list. i swap the wool sweater for the down puffy in the fall. Depending on the trip I won't take the sweater either