PDA

View Full Version : Tent Selection

ljcsov
09-02-2012, 21:02
Hey all,

I'm new to this whole thing and I am trying to pick out my first backpacking tent for solo ventures. After searching around the internet at my budget, I developed this list, keeping in mind that my price ceiling is around $150. At first, I looked at actual 1 person tents but these seem too small for me. I'm willing to take on the extra weight to upgrade to a 2 person tent, giving me some extra comfort space. Because I don't know which tent to pick from the list, maybe some of you could comment on them from personal experiences. Of course, the lightest tent is always the best option, but such a factor falls behind reliability and quality.

Here it goes:

Sierra Designs Lightning HT2
This is the lightest free standing tent I could find within my price range. It appears to be nice with vertical walls, two doors, and lots of mesh. However, I heard it has major issues with condensation and water pooling on the fly.

Sierra Designs Clip Flashlight 2
Heard good things about this tent, but it is not free standing and only has lengthwise entry access. Additionally, the fly appears to be saggy, possibly making it poor in snowy conditions.

Kelty Salida 2
Backpacker said good things about this tent for the price. It weighs very little for a dome style tent. Some have stated that it creates a lot of condensation.

All the previous tents weigh in under 4lb...
next grouping are over 4lb, but under 5lb...

North Face Flint 2
Very similar to design of the Salida 2, but has side entry door.

Mountain Hardwear Drifter 2
Solid dome design with two doors.

Big Agnes Lynx 2
Heavier than some of the other tents. Regardless, the design intrigues me for some reason, most likely due to the massive vestibule that allows you to prop it open like a canopy with trekking poles. Additionally, it looks like it has a decently designed venting system.

Marmot Trailight 2p