PDA

View Full Version : Danger on the trail ?

Skyrunner
09-04-2012, 15:05
Hi at all!
My first post here on white blaze! ... My name is Tim and I am 21 years old.
I am planning a thru' hike. Like many other folks I have some questions (maybe they are stupid) and it would be really great with someone could help me.

I live in Germany right now and so I am not an expert in dangers or the general safety in the USA.
My question is does somebody know if there were attacks to hikers (thru' hikers) by people (maybe directly on the trail or in the towns) ?

I have to say that I'm interested in hiking the AT since more than (around) 3 years and I never heard about attacks to thru' hikers by people. Maybe somebody got some more news or so?
Maybe I have too much worries but I also know that everything could happen and then it doesn't matter if you are in the USA or in Germany or somewhere else in our world.

I am sorry if there is a same thread and I am also sorry for my english. I hope you can understand what I wanted to talk about. ...
Well, thank you very much in advance and thank you for this great forum !!
Best regards
Tim

Skyrunner
09-04-2012, 15:08
Of course it should be: IF someone could help me instead of WITH !!
I am sorry!!

HikerMom58
09-04-2012, 15:10
Hey there Skyrunner... Welcome to White Blaze. I'll let others on here answer your question about safety on the trail. It's pretty safe. Good you found this site.. it will be helpful to you. :):welcome

Hairbear
09-04-2012, 15:12
welcome my friend,relax on the english most of us wont be bragging about our abilities with the language either and its the only one we have lol.

hikerboy57
09-04-2012, 15:21
although over the years there have been a few reports of attacks on hikers and even a murder or 2 the trail is much safer than most of our cities. and most of them are pretty safe too. just use good judgement I trust your instincts and you will be fine. welcome to white blaze.:banana

Rasty
09-04-2012, 15:23