PDA

View Full Version : Developing an Android/iPhone app for the AT and need some information

cloud264
09-12-2012, 00:07
Hey guys,

I'm currently working with some hiking enthusiasts and want to ask a few questions concerning hiking and mobile apps. I'm a Wake Forest University student and working on developing a hiking app that will include social networking and continually updated maps as well as be a one-stop-shop app for basic and advanced needs for through and day hikers hiking on the AT. I can't really go into too much detail at the moment of all the features as we're still developing a business model and what we want to include/exclude. However, with how the app works, it would allow users to send updates of the trail based on GPS and allow all other users to download the most up-to-date map possible. It would help develop a more accurate map and keep things like shelters and water sources completely up-to-date as of the time it was last verified by users (because who really wants to see a shelter demolished or an unclean water source that's supposed to be clean?).

What I want to know is if this app sounds appealing to you and what type of features would you want to see on such an app? The current plan is to focus on the AT and the national/state/local parks the trail runs through as well with intention on expansion. So, what do you guys think? Any feedback is welcomed.

Thanks!

-Jayson

scree
09-12-2012, 00:34
First, I'd recommend picking up a copy of The Companion to see what kind of information will be useful: http://www.aldha.org/comp_pdf.htm