PDA

View Full Version : sil coated nylon for stuff sacks

DavidNH
05-09-2005, 22:10
I have seen in various places advertisements or listings for sil coated nylon stuff sacks and other items. Does sil coated nylon make something completely waterproof? somewhat waterproof? If I have a down sleeping bag in a sil coated nylon stuff sack in pack and its raining...would my bag stay dry?

neo
05-09-2005, 23:20
i have an oversized silnylon pack liner,i put all my stuff,food,hammock sleeping bag in sinylon stuff sack,they are light,cheap,and i never have had anything get wet,it works for me:cool: neo

SGT Rock
05-10-2005, 02:54
Well almost nothing is 100% waterproof. I'm not a fabric expert, but as I unestand it: Silicone impregnated is better usually than sil-coated because sil coated can eventually delaminate. Sil-coated is a cheaper material since the process to coat is easier than the impregnation process.

Peaks
05-10-2005, 07:45
Like the Rock says, probably not 100% waterproof, but very good. You can buy pack covers made with sil nylon.

JoeHiker
05-10-2005, 08:56
Well almost nothing is 100% waterproof. I'm not a fabric expert, but as I unestand it: Silicone impregnated is better usually than sil-coated because sil coated can eventually delaminate. Sil-coated is a cheaper material since the process to coat is easier than the impregnation process.
Does anyone make silicone impregnated stuff sacks? I assume that the term "sil nylon" always refers to sil coated, not impregnated, is that correct?

tlbj6142
05-10-2005, 09:04
Nope. Almost all silnylon you see on the market is the impregnated stuff (espeically stuff sacks, sil-ponchos, sil-tarps, sil-tents, etc.). Coated silnylon is heavier 1.9oz vs 1.4oz.

In fact, I'm not sure I've seen sil-coated nylon even mentioned much lately. Sometimes you see it used on home-made lightweight packpacks and (I think) Six Moon Designs still uses 1.9oz coated stuff for the "heavy duty floor" option on his tents.

Youngblood