PDA

View Full Version : Appalachian Trail Shelters - Architecture Thesis Survey

zcalla20
10-01-2012, 20:31
Hello, I am currently studying architecture at the Savannah College of Art and Design. The Focus of my thesis is the redesigning of Appalachian Trail Shelters without sacrificing the hiking experience.

Personal experience and research has shown that the existing shelters are in major need of repair, and it is my hopes that the information gathered from this survey will benefit my thesis and provide a resource for the designs of future Appalachian Trail Shelters.

Below is the link to the survey: (estimated time to complete is between 4-8 minutes)

Thank you!

https://adobeformscentral.com/?f=YiaKKZYK25w5o0MtRKpdKA

ParkRat09
10-01-2012, 20:42
All except the Smokies! Well with the exception of Davenport Gap

swjohnsey
10-01-2012, 20:44
I don't agree. While spartan, most of the shelters were in good repair.

ParkRat09
10-01-2012, 20:48
While I can only attest to Shelters in the Smokies I've heard more complaints about uncontrollable things like mice and other people

kayak karl
10-01-2012, 21:00
is this serious. last part of survey???? have you been to a shelter ???

Rate the following amenities by how strongly you agree with their addition in future Appalachian Trail Shelters.*

Strongly Disagree

Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly Agree

Electric Lighting

Heating / Air Conditioning

Electric Outlets

Heated Running Water

Gas or Electric Stoves

Lavatories

Emergency Phones

eArThworm
10-01-2012, 21:04
Electricity?!?!? (See the survey.) You can't be serious.

zcalla20
10-01-2012, 21:04
These are all amenities I feel do not belong in a shelter, however I have spoken with other hikers that feel it is important to have some of these.

While I do not agree with them, I felt it important to get a more collected understanding of what to and what not to incorporate into my designs

Thank you for bringing that section up, I know it is a controversial topic.