PDA

View Full Version : Buying a new backpacking tent. Any recommendations?

zcalla20
10-08-2012, 08:37
Hi all,

I am looking into buying a good backpacking tent.

I am a rookie hiker, so I was hoping you all would help direct me to a good tent, or website where I can find a good tent.

I am planning on starting out small with a few weekend hikes here and there, but eventually hope to work my way up to section hiking.

Also, I am hoping the tent would be able to sleep anywhere from 1-5 people within a reasonable price range.

Thanks!

Tipi Walter
10-08-2012, 08:52
Hi all,

Also, I am hoping the tent would be able to sleep anywhere from 1-5 people within a reasonable price range.

Thanks!

This last comment will throw you into a flux. Most people here on Whiteblaze will recommend some form of the TarpTent or the Big Agnes Seedhouse or the MSR Hubbas or the new fangled cottage industry poncho-tarp tents or Wild Oasis stuff or maybe even cuben tarps, etc etc. But you'll have to decide real quick which is it gonna be: A single person tent, a two person tent or a tent for 5(!).

On the other hand, Eureka makes great entry level tents in all sizes which you should consider. A 5 man tent won't be carried on a solo trip, period. A large tarp can house five people, or consider a tipi style tent of the old Mt Hardwear Kiva type or the Golite Shangri La thingies. Don't bother with Kifaru due to the expense. Just some thoughts off the top of my peanut sized brain.

Gnatx
10-08-2012, 08:52
Mountian hardware drifter 3 is a great 2 1/2 person tent with big vestibules solid built and won't break the bank. There are many lighter tents but I really like this one.

Tipi Walter
10-08-2012, 08:55
Mountian hardware drifter 3 is a great 2 1/2 person tent with big vestibules solid built and won't break the bank. There are many lighter tents but I really like this one.