PDA

View Full Version : More Tent Advice

HooKooDooKu
10-11-2012, 02:48
Looks like everyone is looking for some tent advice right now... here's my situation:

I've been using a Kelty Vortex 2 for about 15 years. I've loved the tent, but she's an old gal ready to be retired (and she weights in at 7lb 5oz with ground cloth).

My Requirements:
1. I hike primarily in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park.
2. Must fit my sleeping pads (NeoAir Large for me, Prolite Regular for my son).
3. Must keep the bugs out (no tarp tents).
4. Less than $250 (including ground cloth)

The obvious 1st consideration is the Kelty Gunnison 2.1. (it replaced the Vortex)
I've also considered the Gunnison 2.1 - heavier (i.e. stronger) material to stand up to use with kids.

I've recently discovered the Big Agnes Lynx Pass. 17754It looks like the vestibule can double as a tarp to cook under, allowing me to leave an extra piece of gear (cooking tarp) at home.

Another interesting wrinkle is that I could get a Lynx 3 for less than the Lynx 2 with REI's current sale. If the 3 will fit a NeoAir Large and a pair of Prolite regulars, I've got another son I hope to have joining us soon. In the mean time, the Lynx could still be used as a 2 man tent (and still weight a little less than my current Vortex).

I've all but ruled out the Mountain Hardware Drifter (2 or 3) because after adding a ground cloth, there isn't much of a weight savings yet it seems to be much smaller than the Gunnison or Lynx Pass.

I've considered the Marmot Limelight because it appears that it is only 5lbs (with ground cloth?). Seems like its only negative is a single door (yet the Lynx is a single door too... but you at least get the tarp-like replacement).

Other ideas out there?

AjR
10-11-2012, 14:20