PDA

View Full Version : Finding a Job...

rjhouser
10-15-2012, 20:08
Well, I graduated with my bachelors in business/marketing with honors, thru hiked this summer, now what? I've applied to 30+ jobs, had maybe two interviews, so far nothing. Seems like every "entry level" job I apply to that considers me ends up going with somebody with 10 times more experience than me.

Would really like to find a job that will have me outside as opposed to trapped in a cubicle staring at a computer screen but it's hard to feel the slightest bit selective in times like these. Would love to find something with the National Park Service, even considered looking into becoming a park ranger. The USA jobs website (federal gov't job site) is horrible to work with though imho.

Feeling pretty discouraged at this point. Anybody out there want to hire a thru hiker? :banana

leaftye
10-15-2012, 20:13
A job as a ranger will probably be very difficult to get without experience. An internship and a stint in some type of outdoor corps would be a good start. Those usually have a small stipend. A lot of good outdoor jobs also want applicable skills, such as biology, ecology and construction....and I mean skills that will actually be applied. With winter coming on, you might want to see about getting a job at a ski park.

Tuckahoe
10-15-2012, 20:27
If you're interested in working out of doors, in parks etc. My suggestion would be to seek out potential volunteer opporunities while you are on your job search. Volunteering will get your foot in the door, get you some experience and training and make you know to those that will do the hiring as well. Parks and museums are always looking for volunteers as well.

ParkRat09
10-15-2012, 20:40