PDA

View Full Version : Information sources for JMT

Creek Dancer
10-18-2012, 14:57
I am seriously considering doing the JMT in 2013. I have been backpacking for about 15 years and I feel confident that I have the skills and motivation to complete this trail.

What are the best sources of information for the JMT with respect to planning, permits, etc.?

Thanks so much. :)

Ewker
10-18-2012, 16:07
http://johnmuirtrail.org/

http://www.backpack45.com/johnmuirtrail.html

http://www.pcta.org/about_trail/muir/over.asp

Creek Dancer
10-18-2012, 16:15
Thanks, my friend. I was just looking at those! I am just getting started with the planning and I was wondering what most people use. I think I need to get a guidebook and map first.

garlic08
10-18-2012, 17:12
Cool! I hope it comes together for you. Have a great time.

If you want to tackle another fantastic, shorter trail while you're out West, look at the Wonderland Trail--my favorite so far. And they give out walk-in permits!

postholer.com
10-18-2012, 18:16
Well, you can do some serious arm-chair hiking and planning using this JMT Google Map (http://postholer.com/gmap/gmap.php?trail_id=4&dist=1), with distances and elevations. Use the 'Topo' view for the map type as you zoom in.

For printed maps you can preview and download (http://postholer.com/mapbooks/preview.php?trail_id=4) the free, digitized maps with data book and elevations charts (.pdf file). This is the same process used to create the postholer PCT, AT, AZT and BMT maps.

You can also view the online data book (http://postholer.com/databook/index.php?trail_id=4).

For general information such as snow depth maps, weather, fire perimeter maps, etc, check out the main JMT resource page (http://postholer.com/index.php?trail_id=4).

-postholer

Ewker
10-19-2012, 09:15
totally forgot about postholer esp when I have been reading some trail journals over there

Creek Dancer
10-19-2012, 11:31
Thanks, everyone! I will check out those sources.:cool:

Dogwood