PDA

View Full Version : first time hiking solo

quinn122
10-19-2012, 10:12
im taking a one week, thru hike of the nj section of the trail on nov 3rd.im doing it solo, and i plan on sticking to the campsites along the way.i have concerns about bears, coyotes, snakes, n such. im not afraid, just uneducated in these areas.any advice about the wildlife, solo hiking the area, or anything else helpful is greatly appreciated.im a vol firefighter, so i have basic emergency skills, tho not in the best shape lol...have a great day.......JIM

BobTheBuilder
10-19-2012, 10:17
For what it is worth, here is my advice - I suspect it will be too cold for snakes, but regardless, I don't hike with headphones in. I have come across a couple of rattlesnakes and being able to hear the rattle alerted me to their presence. You might see bears if you're lucky, but I'm not sure if it will be too late for them as well. I hang my food every night (not everybody does) and never had a problem. Just practice it before you leave home, as some people struggle with it. Don't know about coyotes, but it sounds like a fun hike.

quinn122
10-19-2012, 10:22
awesome, thank you much bob

hikerboy57
10-19-2012, 10:23
For what it is worth, here is my advice - I suspect it will be too cold for snakes, but regardless, I don't hike with headphones in. I have come across a couple of rattlesnakes and being able to hear the rattle alerted me to their presence. You might see bears if you're lucky, but I'm not sure if it will be too late for them as well. I hang my food every night (not everybody does) and never had a problem. Just practice it before you leave home, as some people struggle with it. Don't know about coyotes, but it sounds like a fun hike.