PDA

View Full Version : Just starting out...

southgaman48
10-22-2012, 16:06
Im a 48 year old male from Georgia and although I have some day hiking experience when I was younger (hiked half dome twice when I was in my mid 20's) I have caught the bug of wanting to start backpacking. I remember stories that my father told me when I was younger hiking in Yosemite and how exciting it was. I have read and watched videos about hiking AT and would love someday to complete the entire trip in sections. This new idea has come as a complete shock I think to my wife, and has gone from not understanding why anybody would want to spend weeks at a time in the woods, to slowly talking about getting into shape and sharing some of the experiences.

Im positive im not the only person who has gone through this and would like to hear of some of the experiences other had when they caught the "bug"...

Llama Legs
10-22-2012, 16:46
Biggest reason I love backpacking is the simplicity. Planning, prep, and logistics is fun and all - but the minute you step on the trail I feel like all the work is done. Getting away from job, technology, politics, and stress is what it's all about for me...

58starter
10-22-2012, 16:50
Welcome to my world of hiking. My wife is very supportive of me hiking with a group of friend for a few days or even a week at a time. She has been on the AT with me for as long as 3 days and nights. She understands why I want to hike. I am now 61 and have been section hiking the AT now for 3 yrs. I have a little over 300 miles hiked and if I can hold out hope to hike the whole thing some day section by section.

T-Rx
10-22-2012, 17:14