PDA

View Full Version : Tarptent Moment vs Notch

AllTheWayToMordor
10-24-2012, 19:05
Does any one have insights which if the two is better for a through hike?

Thanks for the help!

Drybones
10-24-2012, 20:03
I used the Notch this spring and could not be happier with it, have not used the Moment. From what I've seen, the Notch is a modified version of the Moment.

Thirsty DPD
10-24-2012, 21:52
I can't compare but I have spent many hours in my Moment under different conditions & couldn't be happier. I don't use poles, but if I did, I'd still choose the Moment. I use the cross pole, not for self standing but for heavy rain & wind & it has performed great. Also use the vapor barrier to assist w/ single wall condensation. Everything packs in original stuff sack. Poles, pegs, barrier, tent in sack weight 2.63lbs.

garlic08
10-24-2012, 22:00
I've been using a Contrail for many years, the discontinued Virga before that (since 2002), and you won't find a better company than HS. As I see those two, the trade-offs are in weight, number of stakes, use of two trekking poles, free-standing option, what happens if something breaks (hoop pole or trekking pole), and cost. It's a tough decision. When I replace my Contrail, I'll probably go the easy way and just get another Contrail--lighter, cheaper, nothing to break, but harder to get into and harder to pitch. You can't go too far wrong with either of those. Good luck in your decision.

Not Sunshine
10-24-2012, 22:08
I have the Notch and I do like it.

It was a bit getting used to, though. The material is very slick, so I had to paint a lot of silicone on my sleeping pad, and I also painted some on the Tyvek ground sheet. I had to re-apply the silicone in beads to keep from slipping around so much.

But at 26 oz, I couldn't not say I love it!

But I also hope I'm never caught in a windy rain storm in it....the 4 little tent posts to anchor it leave a little to be desired.

Big Dawg
10-25-2012, 01:35