PDA

View Full Version : DESPERATELY NEED HELP: Gregory Deva 85 vs Osprey Ariel 75

rogue31
10-31-2012, 19:24
Hello, newbie here. I desperately need help!!!...:o
I've been tossing and turning like crazy over my very first women's backpack: Gregory Deva 85 vs Osprey Ariel 75
Since I am super new at all this, I have no idea what's the major flaws I should look for on a pack. I want a good quality pack that will hold loads for multi-days (possibly overseas trek, as well). I will be carrying a lot of UL stuff (e.g. Copper Spur UL2 w/ UL footprint and DAC poles, titanium cooking items+MSR pocket rocket, Down Sleeping bag), except for the sleeping pad (EXPED DownMat LW7) plus food, clothes, water and other usual gears.

PLEASE help me decide...
Many thanks in advance!

Here's a list of the difference between the two products:

Gregory DEVA 85:

Heavy... (uh, I mean... HEAVY!)
It has a "slim" design (I don't know, it's weird because this is 85L but it looks less roomy compared to the OSPREY ARIEL-75)
I absolutely love the pockets, compartments, great overall storage placements- including the zippered pockets molded in the hip-belt!
The quality is definitely superior, every part seems to be very beefy and well thought out (except for the weight!)
Retail price at REI $379 -- it's on SALE now for $200!

Osprey ARIEL 75:

Lighter than the Gregory DEVA-85 (uh, much lighter...)
It "appears" to be more roomy
Less compartments, no smart zippered pockets.
Less beefy
A very nice pack with less padding, I just wish it was built with a smarter design with really cool pockets and compartments like the DEVA.
Retail price at REI $289 -- it's on SALE now for $230!

Hosaphone
10-31-2012, 20:01
It would be useful if you could post a full gear list and what you want to do. Fwiw those packs are MUCH bigger and heavier than what most people here carry. Unless you're planning 10-day winter trip, it's likely that both packs are overkill.

bigcranky
10-31-2012, 20:21
:welcome