PDA

View Full Version : Getting started with alcohol stove - Denatured Alcohol vs Heet

T.S.Kobzol
11-06-2012, 12:24
I'm new to the alcohol stove cooking. I currently have a bottle of denatured alcohol at home. I tested it in my new Trangia and it works fine.

I am wondering about the Heet that everyone seems to recommend. Will Heet boil water faster than Denatured Alcohol?

Thanks.

Falcon
11-06-2012, 12:32
I have used alcohol stoves for quite some time and my experience has been that HEET does boil water faster than denatured alcohol.

T.S.Kobzol
11-06-2012, 13:12
Thanks for the feedback. This question just came to me yesterday while testing the Trangia. I filled it 1/3 with denatured alcohol and started with a pot of cold water on it. I ran out of fuel and the water was not boiling yet. I am guessing if the trangia stove was filled to max it would definitely started boiling by then but how about if I try to melt snow for water? When I run out of alcohol in the stove I will just have to refill it and reignite the flame (I guess that's obvious :-) )

Leanthree
11-06-2012, 14:56
If you are going to be melting snow for water, I'd recommend not using alcohol. Neither Methanol or Ethanol has the energy content per weight to do that efficiently.

To answer your OP, Methanol (Heet) is slightly better than Ethanol (the vast majority of denatured alcohol) as it releases slightly more energy than ethanol when burned.

FarmerChef
11-06-2012, 15:04