PDA

View Full Version : Are expensive Trekking Poles worth it?

TheYoungOne
11-07-2012, 17:51
So I have been hiking with Coleman hiking poles for a few years now. I bought them in Target at $30 for the pair. I have no complaints about them and they have taken some serios abuse and are still going strong. However, as I'm getting more and more into hiking, I wonder if I should upgrade to something "fancier". Besides a possible savings of an ounce or two are high end poles like Back Diamond and Leki worth the additional cost.

http://www.rei.com/search?cat=4500699&search=treking+poles&sortby=Price+%28Descending%29&hist=query%2Ctreking+poles%5Ecat%2C4500699%3ATrekk ing+Poles

http://www.coleman.com/product/coleman-trekking-pole/2000008620?contextCategory=6800

http://r1.coleman.com/ProductImages/Regular/2000008620.jpg

Nutbrown
11-07-2012, 17:59
a stick is a stick...If you have the extra cash, it's nice to lighten the weight. The only other thing I have found btwn cheap vs semi nice (REI) is the wrist straps. The walmart variety gave my friend blisters. ...and they weighed about 43lbs.

jakedatc
11-07-2012, 18:03
I have the BD Alpine Carbons and like how light they are and the carbide tips but until yours break or wear out you could wait and find some at REI garage sales 1 or 2 at a time cheap.

Airman
11-07-2012, 18:15
Never had the need for trekking poles. My hiking stick has been with me for 20 years plus don't see the need in carrying something in both hands.

Zipper
11-07-2012, 18:21
I like the flick-lock on my Black Diamonds. Means that grit and dirt aren't going to keep them from being adjustable. Saw a lot of people who couldn't collapse their poles - they'd get stuck at a certain setting. I liked being able to collapse them in town, in places like the Mahoosuc Notch, getting a ride, etc.

Bags4266
11-07-2012, 18:32
Yes, I agree w/ Zip. The flick-locks are also great if using your poles for tent setups. Much easier to adjust w/ the FL.

johnnybgood