PDA

View Full Version : What degree bag/quilt for Mid April start NOBO

Cozy
11-10-2012, 19:24
1) What degree bag/quilt should I bring for a mid April start NOBO with a tent?

2) What about if I switch to a hammock? Same degree as above with a top quilt?

Right now I have a 20 degree down Go Lite quilt and a Northface synthetic 40 degree bag. And a 50 degree Thermarest quilt.

Thx.

mountain squid
11-10-2012, 20:09
At least a 30f bag for a tent from 15 Apr and later (and there will likely be some cold nights with a 30f). Unsure about a hammock but you definitely will need an underquilt or something to provide insulation underneath.

See you on the trail,
mt squid

how to hike (http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?73587-how-to-hike)
some observations (http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?14493-observations-from-fs42-(advice-for-first-week-on-trail)&highlight=).

swjohnsey
11-10-2012, 22:48

moldy
11-11-2012, 10:28
You need to start with the 20 degree bag. 5 or 6 weeks later it will be late May and you will be past Mt Rogers and it will be time for you to switch with the 40 degree bag. Switch back to the 20 degree bag after Vermont.

q-tip
11-11-2012, 19:31
Bring the 20, you can always switch out later....

Camel2012
11-14-2012, 04:09
I started April 15th this year, and with my 30 degree bag, i had some cool nights, but i carried a liner, and on freezing nights with my liner and wearing my base layer, i burned up, i would usually end up stripping off my base layer.

moytoy
11-14-2012, 08:48
I have hiked on the Southern AT in April with snow and also temps in the 60's. I take my 20* bag knowing I may not need it but happy I have it if I do.
I also depends on you and your bag. I have a campmor 20* bag it probably is not a true 20.

msupple
11-14-2012, 09:58