PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else starting on Jan. 1st?

Rifle
11-11-2012, 13:30
Hey all, I'm new to this whole forum thing, but I figured I'd register on here to get some support and advice :) I'm starting my first thru hike on January 1, 2013. Gonna be freezing, I know. Crazy? Maybe. But I'm going to do it, and I'm going to get to Maine. I have a pretty good idea what I'm getting myself into, and I've got my mind set on it. Any tips/advice? Mainly, is anyone else planning on being on the trail any time in January? Cheers.

Jeff
11-11-2012, 13:36
Lots of old threads on this. Here is one:

http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?78264-January-Start&highlight=starting+in+January

max patch
11-11-2012, 13:45
My advice, since you asked, is to start in the spring and finish in the fall instead of starting in winter and finishing in summer.

Good luck.

Cookerhiker
11-11-2012, 13:48
.... I have a pretty good idea what I'm getting myself into, and I've got my mind set on it. Any tips/advice?... .

Does your "pretty good idea" include the black flies and mosquitoes of Northern New England? A January start from Springer puts you at the peak of bug season up there.

Slo-go'en
11-11-2012, 15:42
There's usually a New Years eve party on top of Springer, so at least you woun't be alone the first night. There will probably even be a few who also start a through hike then, but it will get real lonely, real quick after that.

Unless you have already spent a significant amount of time hiking and camping in the cold, you really don't have any idea what your getting into. And if you have, then there probably isn't much any of us can tell you about it. Seeing that most people who start on Jan 1st usually don't last more then a couple of weeks out there, good luck to ya. Georgia isn't bad, but once you get into NC it will be a much harsher world to deal with.

The Cleaner
11-11-2012, 16:23