PDA

View Full Version : End of June: Sthrn VA or Nthrn PA?

shelb
11-18-2012, 01:02
Planning my next section for the last week of June - first week of July time period:

I can't decide which end to work on. Any input would be appreciated!!!

PA section - Rausch Gap, PA through Culvers Gap, NJ:confused:

or

VA section - Rockfish Gap, VA to about I-81 in VA:-?

johnnybgood
11-18-2012, 14:28
Save the Virginia section till the Fall when the air is crisp and the foilage is spectacular.

In my opinion you're best to hike a few days longer in S.W. Va. so as to include Tinker Cliffs and McAfee Knob, ending at Rt.311 in Catawba. Eating at "The Homeplace" is also recommended.

HikerMom58
11-18-2012, 15:32
I agree with johnnybgood... :) for the same reasons. We will LOVE that VA section AND eating at the Homeplace... Oh YEAH!!!

shelb
11-18-2012, 19:45
Save the Virginia section till the Fall when the air is crisp and the foilage is spectacular.

As a teacher, I cannot get time off in the fall. I must plan my hikes between the end of June and mid-August. We started hiking the trail in the middle, and I would like to complete sections on either side what I have already completed (which is why I asked about Rockfish Gap south and Rausch Gap north). We completed the other sections in mid-July and/or August.

I didn't know if one area (VA vs PA) would be more comfortable and/or more pretty at the end of June....

HikerMom58
11-18-2012, 20:10
Thanks for explaining ur situation better... that's a tough call. As far as comparing the 2 places. I've heard the beginning of that section of PA is fairly flat and much of the trail is in open fields. THen, you will have the rocks. It can be quite hot in the sun that time of year. I don't think the "hiker bubble" will be that far north, the end of June.

VA might have some pretty flowers blooming, in the woods, in late June. I'm pretty sure the "hiker bubble" will be North of that section of VA, the end of June.