PDA

View Full Version : What do you think?

MerylCat
11-19-2012, 16:28
I'm re-posting from a different section. Realized too late the General category was here. :)

I'm a student in Indiana considering hiking part of the trail after graduation in May. I've done some backpacking elsewhere but nothing as dedicated as several months on the trail.
I'm still considering the logistics of doing this, but I'm really hoping to get out in early May. My questions are pretty general. I've done quite a bit of research but I'd love to hear some opinions from experienced hikers!

First, I'll most likely be hiking alone. Like I said, I've done a lot of backpacking and have always felt pretty capable, but I'm just wondering if anyone has any experience, tips, or thoughts on a single female hiking alone?

Second, depending on where I'm able to get a job following graduation, I may have anywhere from 1-3 months on the trail. Any recommendations for where to start as a new, but physically capable hiker if I'm only out for a month? What if I bring a dog with me? I understand that portions of the trail prohibit dogs.

Anyway, I'd appreciate any input. And if I'm posting in the wrong section, feel free to tell me to move. Thanks! :)

Mary

Lone Wolf
11-19-2012, 17:21
i would start in Damascus, Va. in May. you'll be around a bunch of other hikers. there are lots of solo ladies hiking

RWheeler
11-19-2012, 17:26
When I was doing my thru this past summer, I definitely came across a lot of solo female hikers. It's not an uncommon thing.

Starting in Damascus would probably be a great idea, as Lone Wolf suggested.

If the dog has never gone on multi-day hikes before, then I'd suggest not taking it at all. It's a much different consideration than hiking just by yourself. But if the dog is capable and you can be responsible about it, then by all means bring your furry friend!

Best of luck!

swjohnsey
11-19-2012, 17:47