PDA

View Full Version : Thru-hike question #1 of 1,000,000

Bucephelos
11-21-2012, 23:26
So as the title suggests, this is my first post of what I'm sure will be many regarding my (hopeful) thru-hike next spring. Just a little background info to start: I initially planned to do the AT after I graduated college ('01), and did all the requisite reading and research that is involved. Unfortunately (or not), by the time graduation rolled around, furthering my education and focusing on my career had taken precedence and the thru-hike got pushed to the back burner. Fast forward some 10+ years, and I find myself infinitely less enthusiastic about my career (read: "burned out") and looking for an opportunity to take a break to gain some perspective and to reassess my life and my options. A few weeks ago the idea of doing the AT resurfaced, and as I am still single with no kids/mortgage/shackles, i figure why not, right? So thats where I am right now. Like I said, I did a ton of reading and am pretty well familiar with the 'conventional wisdom' associated with a thru-hike, but as that was mostly 10 years ago I am sure much has changed.