PDA

View Full Version : Need help on sleeping options

Oddin
11-27-2012, 15:24
Ok me and a friend are planning a thru-hike for 2014 of the trail, and are planning on getting all gear by this summer and doing a week or 2 gear check first. Now I know lots of people just pitch tarps cause obviously weight is a huge issure but can I get away with taking an actual tent/bug net? One of my main concerns is ticks being a problem with certain desieses and some area's have poiseness snakes in the area. It's just one of those things where i'd be able to sleep easier if i knew a snake could wiggle through the corner of my tarp and pose a problem. Can I get some input/opinions on this since i'm currently a noob to planning a trip of this magnitude. Right now I'm looking a REI bug hut 2 person hut weight 2lbs 14 oz (most likely the 2 of us would switch off carrying it). If i'm posting this is the wrong section i'll move it as well since i wasnt sure where this should really go

AllTheWayToMordor
11-27-2012, 16:25
There are many options that are light weight and bug proof, just not many available at REI. On here there is a list of cottage manufacturers who make good shelters. Tarptent happens to be what I got, but look around here and you will find a lot of good suggestions.

http://tarptent.com/

Oddin
11-27-2012, 16:45
Thanks I will check that site out right after work lol. Also thought about checking into hammocks

yellowsirocco
11-27-2012, 16:54
One thing you should also consider is the personal space aspect of having your own tents. I am fine sharing for a few days, but for any extended amount of time it will get old. Also since this is a friend and is not family there is also the need for flexibility in case you end up splitting up.

Oddin
11-27-2012, 17:51