PDA

View Full Version : Looking for some suggestions on my thru-hike gear

EriKelly
11-29-2012, 23:55
hello i am new to hiking somewhat. I am spoiled and live in NH and recently discovered the beauty in my back yard. Im planning to head sobo in march and have been trying to get my gear in order. I can give links of any items you may be interested in or can take some advice on what iv got in mind. Next weekend I am putting in the order for most of this stuff so this is my pre shakedown. I haven't sorted through the clothes i have and need quite yet depends on how much my pack will add up to when im done here.

(pack) SMD SWIFT - 15

(SHELTER) - 21.5
gatewood cape - 11.0
serenity net tent - 8
stakes - 2.5

(sleep system) - 60
kelty Down 20 degree bag - 41
compression sack - 2.5
nylon mummy liner - 4.5
zlite accordian style - 10
tyvek - 2

(cook system) - 9.9
Water bucket - 2.8
alcohol stove - 1
wind screen - 1.6
cooking mug 1.25 qt - 3
spork - .4
pot coozy - 1.1

(WATER FILTRATION) - 9
(2) 2 liter playpus - 2.6
(2) gatorade bottles - 4.0
aqua mira - 2.4

(hygiene) - 6.5
scrub pad + TP - 1.5
med kit - 1
insect repellent - 2.5
tooth brush / paste / floss - 1.5

(Electronics) - 26
iphone + charger - 6
extra iphone battery - 6
camera - 8
headlamp - 2
spare AAA's - 2
spare AA's - 2

(misc) - 68.05
leki shock poles - 20
at guide book - 8.8
skeletoes - 30
sunglasses - 1.5
credit cards id wallet - 5
nylon bandana - 1
earplugs - .25
20' line - .5
journal/pen - 2