PDA

View Full Version : Complete newbie planning 100-mile hike.

Over40Pirate
12-06-2012, 00:27
Hi All,

I'll try to keep this relatively short: I want to do a 100-mile hike somewhere on the southern part of the AT in May. I have never been on an overnight hike, or carried a pack of any real substance for more than a short distance, so this is a new challenge for me. In doing a little research, I'm leaning toward the section of trail between Damascus, VA and Iron Mountain Gap, NC, for a number of reasons. Does anyone have an opinion on the relative difficulty of this stretch, or a suggestion for another hike of around the same distance between VA and GA that might be more suitable?

Thanks in advance,

Paul

R Jay
12-06-2012, 01:00
I'm not sure what your physical condition is, or what kind of knowledge you have about backpacking, but what you are proposing to do sounds a little crazy. I recommend getting all of your gear together and doing an overnighter, before you take on a 100-mile hike. Learn to walk, before you run.

fredmugs
12-06-2012, 07:36
I'm not sure what your physical condition is, or what kind of knowledge you have about backpacking, but what you are proposing to do sounds a little crazy. I recommend getting all of your gear together and doing an overnighter, before you take on a 100-mile hike. Learn to walk, before you run.

Agree that you should at least take a full pack and do an overnighter first. Everyone learns lots of lessons early on and you don't want to learn a painful one and then have to re-live it for the rest of the trip.

Newbie + 100 miles = Shenandoah National Park. Sure it will take you longer to get there but the trail is easy, there are several places to get food right on the trail (less to pack) and there's a couple of lodges if you want to bail out.

Lone Wolf
12-06-2012, 07:50
Hi All,