PDA

View Full Version : New Hiker, What Gear is Necessary?

jgreenwood742
12-07-2012, 16:09
I am new to hiking and plan to take my first 3-4 day trip this spring with longer trips to follow. I'd like to ask for some gear for Christmas, but I don't even know what to ask for. What do you consider necessary? I have a tent, sleeping bag, backpack and decent boots. Thanks in advance!

Duramax22
12-07-2012, 16:14
Best advice is do some research and spend your money once!!!

TEXMAN
12-07-2012, 16:17
A Montbell down jacket if you want to never have to worry about being cold or
a Jetboil if you like hot food

Old Man River

Feral Bill
12-07-2012, 16:48
There are a lot of what ifs. Tell us more about your plans and current gear. For gifts I's consider a nice LED headlamp, Some lightweight cooking gear, and good wool socks. Stoves are a religious issue, choose your cult.

TNjed
12-07-2012, 16:56
Shoes man shoes. Feet ain't good ain't nothing good. Also find a pack that fits proper. Good rain gear, being wet for days is no fun.

MDSection12
12-07-2012, 16:57
There are a lot of what ifs. Tell us more about your plans and current gear. For gifts I's consider a nice LED headlamp, Some lightweight cooking gear, and good wool socks. Stoves are a religious issue, choose your cult.

I was just about to post something similar, but not nearly as coherent. :)

The headlamp and wool socks are a given, but the rest really depends on what you want to do. I'd also take a look at the weight of your tent. Even the 'backpacking tents' that many sports stores sell are far too heavy to carry unless you can split them up between a couple people. I consider 5 lbs to be about the max I'd want to carry for a tent, but many here consider that way too much.

prain4u
12-07-2012, 16:57
Stoves are a religious issue, choose your cult.

So true--and so accurately expressed.

CarlZ993
12-07-2012, 17:18