PDA

View Full Version : New here......where to start

Tree Nerd
12-10-2012, 23:32
Like it says, I am new on here and I have a lot of questions, but lets start with some background and main questions.

I was born and grew up in the suburbs of Akron, Ohio and I'm currently a student at the University of Kentucky. When I left for school I was planning on being a civil engineer, but as most of you probably know plans never stick. I am currently a senior in the Forestry Department, president of the forestry club, very active in the department, lots of forestry related awards/scholarships, graduating in the top of my class, etc. For the past two summers I have worked for the Nation Parks Service as a Wetland Biotechnician, I now work for the Lexington Fayette Urban County Government as a Land Management Technician......a lot of faculty, friends, and family think I have it made, but honestly I have no Idea what I want to do with my life anymore.

I have always been into the outdoors; hunting, camping, hiking, mountain biking, paintball, ATV's and dirt bikes, etc. But since I switched to forestry I got into backpacking. About two years ago I started reading books about people who have thru hiked the AT, I have about 6 under my belt, and I'm currently reading the Complete Walker 4. I have wanted to hike the AT since I read my first thru hiker book, it intrigued me; the adventure, the journey, the freedom, everything! Unfortunately, I never thought I would have the time. I thought that once I got out of school I had to find a job and start working immediately so I could support the family I wanted to start. Now that school is coming to an end for me (May, 2013), and recent changes in my love life left me astray, I feel like its time to take a hike lol.