PDA

View Full Version : Looking for partner

alexandraaforte
12-12-2012, 01:56
Hello,
My name is Alexandra and I will be 20 soon, so I still relatively young. I go to the University of Michigan. I first found my love of hiking two years ago when I worked on the Colorado Trail and hiked some of it, so much fun! I am still relatively new to backpacking, but I wouldn't call myself a beginner, but most definitely not advanced. Since I am young and a woman, I would not like to hike the trail alone and my friends are all quite busy this next 2013 summer, as I am. But, I would love to make time for this opportunity. So, I was wondering if anyone was still looking for a partner. Thank you so much for your time!
The dates are open. I am a girl and would not like to hike the trail alone. Is anyone else looking for a partner or for someone to add on? Let me know.
Alexandra

avalonmorn
12-12-2012, 03:12
Alexandra, woman was worried about her daughter hiking alone, she's about your age. Her member name was abbykat134, I believe.

Hitchin' Post
12-12-2012, 11:22
If you're traveling northbound and leaving any time in March or April, you'll have no problem finding a group to travel with. No need to find a hiking partner ahead of time--the AT isn't a lonely place.

Cookerhiker
12-12-2012, 11:28
Alexandra, you may want to contact the Colorado Trail Foundation. They might be able to help you with ideas of how to find partners either through them or other groups. When I thru'd in 2011, my partner and I met a single woman hiking who joined us for about 10 days but it's not something you can count on for the CT.

I know of at least one single woman and one couple planning a 2013 thruhike. I don't know if the former is planning a solo or not but if you'd like, I can put you in touch with her. She's middle-aged.