PDA

View Full Version : First Timer. Looking for 4-5 day ending at Harpers Ferry.

shanem12
12-23-2012, 16:45
My buddies and I are planning a short, few day hike for our first time and we thought ending at Harpers Ferry would be good. We are from CT so I figured we can drive to the Amtrak in DC and leave my car so we can take the train back from Harpers Ferry. Judging by average speed, I though that Front Royal was a good place to start. But as a Newbie, I have no idea how to get there. I assume most people try to leave their car at the end. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get to my start? Maybe their is somewhere better to start? Thanks, Shane

johnnybgood
12-23-2012, 17:14
It's 54 miles from Front Royal to Harpers Ferry, so averaging 10 miles a day is very doable assuming 5 days to hike it.

The Teahorse Hostel in Harpers Ferry is a highly suggested shuttler to get you to your start. www.teahorsehostel.com (http://www.teahorsehostel.com)

Cookerhiker
12-23-2012, 22:38
Since you're driving anyway, why not drive to Harpers Ferry, leave your car at the Park Service lot, and get a shuttle either south to Shenandoah or north to Rt. 16 Waysnesboro.

Tim Causa
12-26-2012, 04:56
I live in this area and hike these sections all the time. While I love front royal to harpers ferry, there are a ton of puds (pointless ups and downs) and only a few decent overlooks. From pa to md is a smoother grade, has a variety of campsites and shelters to use, and passes by two parks with water spigots for speedy breaks.

I think the key point in this suggestion is because if your group is to continue backing, you start out with a good benefit/reward ratio. Lots more views than killer climbs - variety of scenery - easy access to resupply considering a ling first hike, etc. In addition, I just really like that section; it's beautiful.

When are you guys going? I was planning on doing this section again soon and could carpool; I go ultralight though and do it in 2 days.