PDA

View Full Version : AT General Questions

catkonosky
01-02-2013, 15:22
My boyfriend and I are not new to being in the outdoors. We love hiking and discovering new places. So, you can see why the AT is a dream trip for us. We are taking a semester off from college and trying to prepare ourselves mentally and physically for our March '13 thru-hike trip NOBO. A couple of questions do come to mind, however, and I'm hoping that some AT alumni can help me out with at least some of my questions!

How is crime on the trail? How safe are the shelters?
How convenient are the mail drops?
What are some items that you packed that you found were very helpful?
Bears, Spiders, Snakes, Oh my! How prevalent are they along the AT? Did you carry Bear Spray?
I'm a photographer. How did you keep your camera batteries charged???
NOBO hikers: How was the weather?

Women: What kind of boots did you choose that you found most comfortable and where?
What kind of water filtration system did you use and did you find it to be effective?
What kind of tent did you use/the weight?
How was it returning home? Was it hard to adjust again? My boyfriend is worried about not being able to find a job after our hike, but I think it may be beneficial for him to put that he completed the AT on his resume because he is looking into working for the National Park Service.

Also any general advice or experiences you would like to share with me I would absolutely love to hear it!! I have been reading trail journals, etc. non-stop and I am eager to hear anyone's own stories. Thank you and Happy Hiking!

hikerboy57
01-02-2013, 15:36
welcome to whiteblaze.
youre asking a lot of questions over a wide variety of subjects. my first suggestion is to check out the home page, on the left side you will see a number of excellent articles that may answer many of your questions. you can also use the search function to search the relavent threads for your answers. finally lets take those questions one at a time.