PDA

View Full Version : Doing a section hike from Bear Mountain, NY to around Hawk Mountain, PA in June

Mike Mayen
01-02-2013, 19:29
I plan on doing this section of the trail in June, I am posting here so you guys can give me the most information possible about the hike! I am a moderately new backpacker who is 18 years old, I have gone on multiple 2 night trips with a friend so i have some experience and more importantly experience without a parent. I am doing this hike alone mostly because I want a more wilderness experience. I have acquired some very good gear over the past 2 years through buying and dedicating Christmas' to getting gear ( tarptent moment, steripen, mountain hardware lamina sleeping bag) Not that the nicest gear is important at all but i definitely spent time and money making sure I will have gear to last me this hike and a long time to come! I just have a few questions about packing food, water, staying at shelter/meeting people and some other questions!

- Would it be better for someone my age to set up a mail drop in the middle of the hike for food I need, or should I just plan on shopping at the local stores for the food?
- What kind of food do people bring on these long hikes? ( I usually bring cans and hot dogs on 2 night trips :P) I was thinking those rice paquets where all you do is boil them, any other ideas?
- How much water should i bring with me considering I have a Steri Pen? I was thinking 1 nalgene and 2 liter and a half soda bottles? I usually take a 750 ml water bottle and two 1 liter Gatorade bottles, but for this long of a hike and for june i may need more.
- Considering I am hiking south from new york in june, seems obscure but I live in PA and would rather put the burden on my parents to pick me up nearby our house rather than coordinate picking me up in NY. Am i going to meet people to hike with for awhile on the trail? I would love to meet up with hikers but it seems unlikely because of my section.