PDA

View Full Version : late bloomers : who else is starting in May?

dancingbear
01-03-2013, 16:46
finishing high school dictates that my hiking partner and I start our thru in late May. We fast pack and are dead set on making Maine before the big mountain shuts its doors. anyone else starting late?

Airman
01-03-2013, 17:46
Why not start the following year where you can enjoy it. Rushing something such as the trail is a total waste of time. Imagine what you will miss by rushing it.

SCRUB HIKER
01-03-2013, 19:07
For God's sake ignore the guy who just posted. You'll hike the exact same trail at the exact same speed as everyone else, you'll just do it in slightly longer days and with fewer stops for rest. People start in May all the time for whatever reason. I have a friend who started June 8 and made it. Best of luck to you and your partner--if I'd been thinking about thru-hiking when I graduated high school, I probably would have tried it then too.

Also, look into southbounding. Hiking home to Atlanta could be a lot of fun and better for motivation.

Papa D
01-03-2013, 19:36
You are the perfect SOUTHBOUND candidate - this is what I did when I graduated high school - - start in early June in Maine - - you'll have a few black fly issues but other than that it would be the perfect fit for your schedule (and you join a little more exclusive club) in my opinion.

SomeGuy
01-03-2013, 19:53
I have this same dilemma. Planning to go SOBO and finishing on or before my birthday.

Papa D
01-03-2013, 20:02
When i graduated from High School, I went SOUTHBOUND. Your schedule sets up perfect to join the merry and exclusive clan of SOBOS most of whom start June-July - - if you start in June, you'll dodge a few black-flies but other than that you'll have great weather (as compared to the sticky hot south that time of year). i'm in Athens. P/M me if you want help. - oops - I posted pretty much the same response twice - sorry - slow site (or my computer) right now

Zipper