PDA

View Full Version : Bear Cannister

ATrain
01-03-2013, 20:41
Hello everyone. New to WB, first post. I have learned so much about backpacking the AT from this site and appreciate the combined wisdom and willingness to share of the more experienced hikers. Am currently planning a 2013 thru-hike. On the subject of bears (and other competitors for my food) on the AT, as a complete newby its seems to me that I should carry a bear cannister. I say this because I have an idea that my attempts to properly hang a food bag would be at times inconvenient and at times pathetic. I know (from threads on this forum) that some experienced campers are comfortable sleeping with their food; I, at least at first would not be. Since I have yet to take that first step with upwards to 30 pounds on my back, perhaps I do not fully appreciate the negative consequences of the additional weight. I was interested in the discussion on another thread of the problem of hikers trashing communal bear lockers and thought this would be one solution. Those who carry cannisters mention using them as a camp stool, carry water, trash can, etc. What do you think?

Northern Lights
01-03-2013, 21:07
I like my bear cannister, and yes I have used it for a stool. But that really isn't a bonus as you can always find a log or stump to sit on. I've not been able to master the PCT hang so it works for me. I also have a URSack that I used in the Smokies. I camped out on the trail one night(yes I know you aren't allowed to do that, and I confessed when I saw the ridgerunner the next day) I tied the UR to a tree and slept like a baby. Nothing got in the bag at all.

Lone Wolf
01-03-2013, 21:10